Miles and I have a Capitol Idea – First Missouri State Capitol State Historic Site #58

Standard
Cake #58 at First Missouri State Capitol State Historic Site

Cake #58 at First Missouri State Capitol State Historic Site

Most of my cake hunting journeys are full of interesting and strange obstacles, and the historical cake hunting trip Miles and I were embarked upon was no different.

After having taken in the cake at the Lewis and Clark Boat House, Miles and I were filled with historic purpose as we set across the parking lot to see the next cake at the First Missouri State Capitol State Historic Site. However as we came to a sign that told us we had found the correct building, the cake was nowhere in sight.

Miles began searching the ground area while I checked my map coordinates when suddenly I happened to look between two buildings and realized that the cake was in the backyard of the capitol building.

My first thought was to simply climb the fence that stood between Miles’ and my destiny, but as families with small children were shopping in the stores around us, I thought this might set a bad example – plus it may not be 100% legal?

But we were determined to see the cake and complete our historical voyage, so we walked around to the back of the building to try a different route, when as luck would have it, there was a section of the fence that was only latched, not locked.

Miles basking in our cake-complishment

Miles basking in our cake-complishment

I took this as a welcome invitation to walk right up to the cake, and was about to do so, when a man crossed the length of the yard with some brush and other backyard debris in his hands. He just seemed to be cleaning up, but he did present yet another obstacle to our cake-y conquest. So I decided to pick Miles up and have him do what he does best – win people’s affection.

With Miles on my hip, I called to the man and asked him if we could come into the backyard to get a picture with the cake. He seemed a little bewildered at first as if he hadn’t even taken much notice of the cake, but when he saw Miles, he smiled and said we were welcome to come back for a minute.

Without any hesitation, Miles and I raced toward the cake and snapped our customary pictures. As we were admiring the cake, our gentleman gatekeeper told us that even though most people think Jefferson City has always been Missouri’s state capitol, St. Charles was actually the state’s first capitol from 1821 to 1826 while the state was deciding where to have the capitol permanently.

I could tell he wanted us to stay and chat more, but Miles and I had adventures to pursue. So I thanked him for his knowledge and generosity and Miles and I trekked on to the next stop on our quest.

One thought on “Miles and I have a Capitol Idea – First Missouri State Capitol State Historic Site #58

Leave a Reply

