Breaking Rules and Buying Local – Soulard Farmers Market #53

Standard

In my regular, non-cake hunting life, I live by 3 simple rules:

1. I do not get up early, especially on weekends.

2. I do not run even when crossing the street.

3. I stay away from sketchy people, places and things.

However, for the sake of cake hunting, I have been known to break Rules #1 and #2 when the situation calls for it. And for Rule #3, well, I usually don’t have a choice about breaking that one.

Cake #53 at the Soulard Farmer's Market

Cake #53 at the Soulard Farmers Market

For Cake #53, at the Soulard Farmers Market, I decided to break Rule #1 and get up far earlier than I normally would on a Saturday morning to join my parents and family friends for a little cake hunting and Farmers Market shopping.

Now you may have been to the Farmers Market to check out their goods and buy some fresh produce, however, I bet you didn’t know that the Soulard Farmers Market has some pretty deep origins in St. Louis.

Cake #53 at the Soulard Farmer's Market

Cake #53 at the Soulard Farmers Market

In 1779 the land that is now the Farmers Market was a simple meadow where local farmers would go to sell their crops and livestock. Antoine Soulard was given the land that included what is now the Farmers Market in 1795, but it wasn’t until after several legal battles and his death that his widow Julia Soulard (girl power!) officially obtained the deed to the land and set aside two blocks for the Farmers Market. And I, for one, am pretty thankful she did.

Now every Wednesday through Saturday you can pop by the Farmers Market and take advantage of locally grown fruits, veggies and other delicious foods.

2014-04-12 11.05.42You can even pick up some cute little chickadees like the ones I saw when I went to the Market that Saturday.

So I suppose the lesson I learned that day is that if you’re going to break Rule #1 and get up early, at the very least there better be a cake involved…or pretzels or chocolate or any of the other awesome “breakfast” foods I got to try that morning 🙂

Cake #53 at the Soulard Farmer's Market

Cake #53 at the Soulard Farmers Market

3 thoughts on “Breaking Rules and Buying Local – Soulard Farmers Market #53

Leave a Reply

