This Monster Only Runs for Cake – Big Brothers Big Sisters of Eastern Missouri #37

Standard
Cake #37 at Big Brothers Big Sisters of Eastern Missouri

Cake #37 at Big Brothers Big Sisters of Eastern Missouri

After our group had finished posing with the cake at the Fox, I spied out of the corner of my little eye yet another cake just waiting to be hunted only a short walk away. And so, being the cake monster that I am, I made the executive decision that we were going to see that one also (aka I just kind of took off in the general direction of this cake hoping someone would follow me).

Luckily enough, the group was feeling gracious and followed me to the second cake of the night at Big Brothers Big Sisters of Eastern Missouri.

Besides being a fantastic organization that helps pair children with adults who truly want to care for them and help them succeed, I also learned that 2014 marks 100 years since the St. Louis chapter of the organization was founded!! And even more exciting, the organization itself was founded in 1904, so 2014 marked it’s 110th birthday! With so many milestones going on, it’s no wonder this location was chosen as home to a cake.

Cake #37 at the Big Brothers Big Sisters of Eastern Missouri

Cake #37 at the Big Brothers Big Sisters of Eastern Missouri

Plus this cake was definitely one of my favorites! I really liked the color choices used by the artist and the fact that each tier has it’s own theme.

And so after my mama and I had taken our customary pictures with the cake, we walked back to the Fox to enjoy our show.

However the fun did not stop there. After the rockin’ show, and with two cakes in the books, our little crew headed home. On the way, we talked about the cakes we had seen, my mission to see them all and where the rest were located. And just as we were about to jump on the highway, we felt the car screech to a halt and shimmy over to the side of the road. All of us looked at each other wondering what was going on when our fearless driver screamed, “Cake!” We all rushed to the side of the car facing the street to look out the window and saw, a few feet away and up the street, the cake at the LGBT Center.

Of course, I ripped off my seat belt as fast as I could and started for the car door. But mid way through this rush, I looked out the window again only to realize that there were zero streetlights around the cake, so it was pretty much just a glittering lump in the darkness. And after searching my purse, I  also realized my cell phone was dead (the beginning of an all too common occurrence when cake hunting). So with a heavy heart, I informed everyone of the near impossibility of getting a good picture of the cake that night and with a big collective sigh, everyone put back on their seat belts and prepared for the rest of the ride home.

Regardless of this minor misadventure, though, when what starts out as just a trip to the theatre turns into a surprise two-for-one caking adventure, I still count that as a win in my book.

 

Cake adventuring aside, I do fully support the mission of the Big Brothers and Big Sisters, so if you’re interested in learning more about what they do and how to get involved, visit their website here.

Leave a Reply

