We Will Rock You – The Fabulous Fox Theatre #36

Standard
Cake #36 at the Fabulous Fox Theatre

Cake #36 at the Fabulous Fox Theatre

One of the biggest lessons I’ve learned through my cake hunting adventures is that sometimes, when you least expect it, life hands you a cake (apply this to your own life accordingly).

As it so happens, for Cakes #36 and #37, this was exactly the case.

As I’ve said before, my family has always supported musical theater. In fact, many of my childhood memories are soundtracked (that’s a thing right?) by songs from the different musicals I was exposed to growing up. (Check out Of Course I Have a Plan…Part 6 The Muny for further evidence of just how integral musicals were to my upbringing and how much they may have contributed to my eventual sketchy life. It will explain so much).

So in addition to spending my summers at the Muny, I was also fortunate enough to be able to see numerous shows over the years at The Fabulous Fox Theatre.

On this particular winter evening, I was set to see Queen’s We Will Rock You with my mama, papa and family friends. But it wasn’t until halfway to the theatre that a little light bulb went off over my head as I realized that in addition to being dazzled by an incredible performance, I was going to be dazzled by the presence of a cake.

Cake #36 at the Fabulous Fox Theatre

Cake #36 at the Fabulous Fox Theatre

I don’t know why it took me so long to put it together, but the Fox was a perfect place for a cake because in addition to being a fantastic St. Louis landmark, the theatre was also celebrating a major milestone in 2014 – it had been 85 years since the theatre doors were opened for the first show in 1929 (AND ’85 was the year I was born…it’s all coming together.)

I also read an interesting quote on the Fox’s website, “‘No longer need residents of St. Louis look beyond their own city for the finest entertainment.'” Apparently this was something that was said when the Fox held it’s first show. And, in my opinion, the theatre has definitely lived up to these lofty expectations.

The black and white helps with the blurriness right?

The black and white helps with the blurriness right?

I must also admit that this occasion, while already pretty incredible because of the chance caking, was made even sweeter by the show we were there to see: Queen’s We Will Rock You. Now it is true that this cake monster spend some time in England “studying.” And while I was there, one of the things I wanted to do was see a show. And when the woman at the ticket booth told my companion and I that this show was like seeing a rock concert, we were totally in. And she was totally right.

The basic idea of the musical is a little wonky, and I won’t get into it, but it is packed with a crazy amount of Queen songs and the best part is, often times the audience is encouraged to join in with the song (*Exsqueeze me?* I get to head bang to Bohemian Rhapsody in a reputable theater? *chah*).

So even though the cake may have been only around for a short year, I definitely would recommend taking any opportunity you have to check out a show at the Fox Theatre. And who knows, maybe the universe will bring you some actual cake when you least expect it (but for real, if that happens, let me know, I love cake 🙂 ).

The ceiling at the Fox - totally not frowned upon to be taking a picture of this before the show

The ceiling at the Fox – totally not frowned upon to be taking a picture of this before the show

Leave a Reply

