Cake Monster Gets Nostalgic – The Lodge at Des Peres #18

Standard
The Lodge at Des Peres

The Lodge at Des Peres                                         Photo Credit: www.thelodgedesperes.com

Four score and many cakes ago, Mercutio Krispytreats, Waltrice Disneta and I were still cake adventuring around West County on a brisk afternoon in March. As we made our way up Manchester Road, the next cake calling our name was at The Lodge at Des Peres.

Cake #18!

Cake #18!

Unfortunately, as my face in the picture to the left accurately shows, unlike Manchester City Hall, I was unable to do much delving into the (I’m sure) rich history of The Lodge at Des Peres – that and I was getting my first taste of the infamous retina-burning that is cake hunting for people who forget their sunglasses :(.  

So instead of presenting you with the history of the location, I now present you with my own personal history with the location – bring on the nostalgia!

Ten years ago in 2004, a much younger Cake Monster was entering the doors of The Lodge at Des Peres as a proud high school senior.

That night The Lodge at Des Peres was to be the location of Senior Lock-In, a time when all the seniors got together one last time to celebrate their youth and accomplishments (aka graduating high school in one piece). So along with the other senior women in my class, we entered the doors of The Lodge at Des Peres at sun down and did not emerge until sun up.

A young Cake Monster dancing to her own drummer at The Lodge in Des Peres circa 2004

A young Cake Monster dancing to her own drummer at The Lodge in Des Peres circa 2004

It was a night to remember, full of laughs, hypnotism, a money pit (you know, that thing where you step into an inflatable booth full of dollars that are being blown around the booth by an air blower, and you try to grab as many of them as you can and stuff them through a little hole in the booth? Yes? No?), caricature drawings, and general fun had by all.

The Lodge itself still stands as I remembered looking at it as I pulled away in my sweet green Saturn, bleary eyed after a night of camaraderie that I still think on fondly. *I need a moment!*

And so with hardcore nostalgia still welling up in my throat after finding the cake at The Lodge at Des Peres, it was only right that the next stop on our cake-venture be my alma mater.

 

Cake #18!

Cake #18! …with some sort of spooky alien-looking shadow cast on the cake….

Cake #18!

                  Cake #18!

One thought on “Cake Monster Gets Nostalgic – The Lodge at Des Peres #18

Leave a Reply

