Bet Your City Doesn’t Have a Dog Museum… -The American Kennel Club Museum of the Dog Cake #21

Standard

Even as an avid cake hunter, and tried and true Cake Monster, there are still more than a few cakes that I’ve traveled to that have made me question the cake-placement-decision-makers’ decision to put a cake in that particular location (*cough* ANYWHERE in Illinois *cough*). On the flip side, though, there have been more than a few cakes that I’ve come across that made me think, “Yes! This place deserves recognition for it’s unique/interesting/magical/historical/ contribution to St. Louis.” And happily, the American Kennel Club’s Museum of the Dog – the next stop on Mercutio, WD and I’s journey – is just one of those locations.

Cake #21! At the AKC Museum of the Dog

Cake #21! At the AKC Museum of the Dog

Located in Queeny Park, the AKC Museum of the Dog is the only museum in the whole, entire, big world dedicated to all things dog. It’s home to numerous statues (small ones, so they’re ok), paintings and other works of art from around the world all paying homage to man’s best friend. Now, if that doesn’t scream, “Unique!” to you, I don’t know what does. 🙂 wpid-20140315_170100.jpg

While this outing was Mercutio and WD’s first trip to the museum, I got a little misty eyed thinking back to the first time I explored the museum with my furry companion, Mr. Miles James.

It was a sunny afternoon when Miles and I made our way to the museum to be joined by what I now know as a grumble aka a group of pugs (thank you Mercutio for introducing me to that lovely word!).

The AKC Museum of the Dog was hosting a citywide event for pug owners to bring their pups to the museum and introduce them to other pug friends. Needless to say Miles was in puppy heaven. It was two hours of running, jumping, sniffing and snorting with new pug friends.

One exhausted Miles James

One exhausted Miles James

So much fawn fur!

So much fawn fur!

And by the time the event was over, Miles had made lots of new pug friends, and I had found out that St. Louis is full of pug lovers!

So with these memories in mind and the amazingly decorated 21st cake admired and photographed, Mercutio, WD and I made our way to the next cake on our journey.

wpid-20140315_170124.jpg

One thought on “Bet Your City Doesn’t Have a Dog Museum… -The American Kennel Club Museum of the Dog Cake #21

Leave a comment